Call 24/7 (405) 232-1985
Driving Under The Influence (DUI) In Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, the penalties for a driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol charge can be very steep. Below are five facts about the law in our state that an auto accident lawyer would like you to know.

  • First, a driver can be charged with a DUI in Oklahoma with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8%. If you are driving with a commercial license, the legal limit is 0.4%. If you are under 21, you should know that Oklahoma is a zero tolerance state. Under zero tolerance, you can be charged with a DUI if your BAC is above 0.0%.
  • Second, the fines for a DUI conviction in Oklahoma are extremely high—much higher than most states. Not only that, but they rise even higher for each subsequent offense. For a first offense, you can be fined as much as $1,000. For a second offense, you may be fined as much as $2,500. For the third offense, the fine could be as high as $5,000.
  • Third, a DUI conviction could lead to a jail sentence. For a first offense, the range is between 5 days and 1 year. For a second offense, the range is from 1 year to 5 years. For a third offense, the range is between 1 years and 10 years.
  • Fourth, your license may be suspended for up to 30 days for a first offense. It could be suspended up to 6 months for a second offense, and up to 1 year for a third offense.
  • Fifth, an ignition interlock device (IID), which requires a test of your breath before you start a car, is required for subsequent DUI convictions. In Oklahoma, it is not required for the first conviction. IIDs will not allow vehicles to start if they sense alcohol.

Please contact us if you need to discuss a car accident.